PAROISSE DE



SAINT SAUVEUR

Constables' Office, St Saviour's Community Centre, Le Neuf Chemin, St Saviour, Guernsey GY7 9FG Telephone; - 01481 263414

constables@stsaviours.gg www.stsaviours.gg

Ratepayer's meeting held at St Saviours Community Centre on 24th April 2023 at 7.15pm with 18 parishioners in attendance. The meeting was chaired by Mr P Connolly (PC) (Senior Constable).

1. Copies of draft minutes of the parish meetings held on 25th April 2022 and 2nd November 2022 had been made available to those present and PC asked if anyone wanted him to read out these minutes. No-one asked him to do so.

Mr R Murray proposed (seconded by Mr R Arundale) that the minutes from the meetings on 25th April 2022 and 2nd November 2022 should be approved and this was unanimously agreed.

2. Copies of the Constable's 2022 accounts had been made available (prior to the meeting) on the parish website and for those present and PC asked if there were any questions concerning them. No-one asked a question.

Mr RAV de Garis proposed (seconded by Mr J Brache) that the accounts should be approved and this was unanimously agreed.

3. PC advised the meeting that the recommended Secular Remede is £98,875 and detailed the various items of expenditure as per the publications in La Gazette on 6th and 20th April 2023.

PC invited any comment or questions about the proposed Secular Remede but none were forthcoming.

Mr RAV de Garis proposed (seconded by Mr R Arundale) that the Secular Remede should be approved in full and this was unanimously agreed.

4. PC advised the meeting that the recommended transfer to the Reserve Fund in accordance with the provisions of the Parochial Taxation (Reserve Funds) (Guernsey) law, 1997 was £5,000 as per the publications in La Gazette on 6th and 20th April 2023.

Rev. M Charmley proposed (seconded by Mrs S Watson) that the transfer to the Reserve Fund should be approved in full and this was unanimously agreed.

5. PC advised the meeting that the recommended Refuse Habitual Unit Charge (Refuse Rate) is £126,000 as per the publications in La Gazette on 6th and 20th April 2023.

PC invited any comment or questions about the proposed Refuse Rate but none were forthcoming.

Sir de Vic Carey proposed (seconded by Mr RAV de Garis) that the Refuse Rate should be approved in full and this was unanimously agreed.

- 6. The meeting approved that the Constables should apply to the Royal Court for permission to levy the owners and refuse habitual unit charge sums.
- 7. The meeting agreed that owner's rate be levied by applying the relative Cadastre category factors and that the refuse habitual unit charge be applied to all housing units.
- 8. The meeting agreed that all necessary measures relating to the above should be taken by the Constables and Douzaine as they may deem advisable.
- 9. PC explained to the meeting that there was a vacancy for a Douzenier to filled the unexpired term to 31st December 2024. The Constables published a notice in La Gazette inviting nominations for the position and one nomination was received:

Sir De Vic Graham Carey
Proposed by Renaut Anthony Victor de Garis
Seconded by Harvey Marshall

There being only one candidate for the one position PC declared De Vic Carey elected as Parish Douzenier for the unexpired term to 31st December 2024.

10. PC explained to the meeting that there was a vacancy for a Douzenier to filled the unfilled term to 31st December 2026. The Constables published a notice in La Gazette inviting nominations for the position and one nomination was received:

Kevin Brian Bales Proposed by Renaut Anthony Victor de Garis Seconded by De Vic Graham Carey

There being only one candidate for the one position PC declared Kevin Bales elected as Parish Douzenier for the unexpired term to 31st December 2026.

11. PC explained to the meeting that there was a vacancy for a Parish representative on the La Mare de Carteret High School Committee. The Constables published a notice in La Gazette inviting nominations for the position and one nomination was received; -

Tanya May Trebert Proposed by Peter Ivor Aeschbacher-Ayres Seconded by Michael John Seymour Eades

There being only one candidate for the one position PC declared Tanya Trebert elected as Parish Representative.

There being no further business meeting closed at 7.25 pm.